/
    • History

    • The original golf course of Tupelo Country Club was built in 1930.  It was a nine-hole golf course located in the city of Tupelo.  That property served the Members until 1970.  In 1970, Tupelo Country Club built a new 18 hole golf course and clubhouse at its current location in Belden, Mississippi just outside of Tupelo.  Built on a 250 acre cotton farm, the golf course was designed by John Frazier.  It is a member friendly layout making it appealing to novice golfers yet challenging and very capable of testing the best players.

      Over the years the golf course has gone through several design changes including the 1988 redesign by golf course architect, Kevin Tucker.  In 1998, the greens were changed to Champions Bermuda. Among the facilities most notable features are its three hundred native trees planted in 2005 and 2006.  To add to the picturesque setting, 10,000 summer and 8,000 fall annuals are planted each year.  There are six lakes along with forty-three newly renovated greenside bunkers and twelve fairway bunkers.  The course features multiple tees ranging from 4,993 to 6,887 yards.

      Tupelo Country Club has played host to many state championship golf tournaments.  The list includes the 1982, 1991 and 2003 Mississippi State Amateur, the 1986 and 2002 Mississippi State Open, the 2000 Mississippi State Four-Ball, the 1992 Mississippi Women's State Amateur and the 1999 Mississippi Women's Senior State Amateur.  

      Our Certified Golf Course Superintendent is Jim Kwasinski.  He is an active member of the Golf Course Superintendents Association and a 1990 graduate of Mississippi State University with a degree in Turf Grass Management.  His resume includes facilities such as English Turn in New Orleans, LA, Windance in Gulfport, MS and Chenault & Selman Field in Monroe, LA.